DUN DUN DUN … HEALTHY FOOD

Everyone who knows me knows I’m not really into “healthy eating”. I hate the gluten-free trend, I eat a vegetable once a week in a good month, and I’m violently opposed to salad (other than the potato variety). But this hearty, tasty recipe happens to make me feel really good and healthy when I eat it — probably because of the colors. It doesn’t have a name because I made it up (I think) and I’m not really sure what to call it (maybe tabboule?? Potato salad??) so here’s … the recipe:

Ingredients (for one)

 

1/2 cup red quinoa

A little less than 1 cup water

A few tablespoons Trader Joe’s vegetable broth

A dash of salt

 

2 small purple potatos

Water to cover

A dash of salt

 

A tablespoon of coconut oil

Pink salt

1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

Optional pepper

 

Instructions

Rinse quinoa and cook according to package instructions.

Peel and cut potatos into bite size pieces and boil at the same time quinoa is cooking until potatos are soft (should take about 15 minutes, depending on how big you cut the pieces).

Drain potatos. Toss cooked potatos and quinoa with coconut oil, acv and salt.

Serve warm or cold.

 

 

Leave a Reply

